Thanks to our wonderful ambassadors who support EUROPEAN ARTHOUSE CINEMA DAY!

Céline Sciamma

Céline Sciamma was born in 1978 in Cergy Pontoise. She studied literature, then joined the script department of La fémis, the French National Film School. His graduation work became his first feature film, WATER LILIES. Then followed TOMBOY, GIRLHOOD and PORTRAIT OF A LADY ON FIRE. Concurrently with her work as a director, she wrote the scripts for Claude Barras' MY LIFE AS A COURGETTE and André Téchiné's BEING 17.

Jean-Pierre & Luc Dardenne

Jean-Pierre Dardenne was born in Engis (Belgium) in April 1951. Luc Dardenne was born in Awirs (Belgium) in March 1954.
Jean-Pierre studied dramatic art at the Institut des arts de diffusion de Bruxelles where he will be taught by Armand Gatti, director and poet, thanks to whom he will make his first steps in directing together with his brother Luc. On his side, Luc studied philosophy and sociology.
Together they have directed numerous documentaries.
In 1975, Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne founded the production company Dérives, which has produced more than eighty documentaries, including their own. In 1994, they founded the production company Les Films du Fleuve.

1987: Falsch
1992: Je pense à vous
1996: The Promise
1999: Rosetta Palme d’Or and Best Actress for Emilie Dequenne – Cannes Film Festival 1999
2002: The Son Best Actor for Olivier Gourmet – Cannes Film Festival 2002
2005: The Child Palme d’Or – Cannes Film Festival 2005
2008: Lorna’s Silence Best Screenplay – Cannes Film Festival 2008, Prix Lux – 2008
2011: The Kid with a Bike Grand Prize of the Jury – Cannes FF 2011
2014: Two Days, One Night European Film Awards – Best Actress for Marion Cotillard 2015
2016: The Unknown Girl
2019: Young Ahmed Best Directors – Cannes Film Festival 2019

Sandra Hüller

Sandra Hüller, born in Suhl in 1978, studied at the Ernst Busch Academy of Dramatic Arts in Berlin and then played at the theatres in Jena, Leipzig, Basel, Berlin, Hanover and Munich.
In 2004 Sandra Hüller took on her first cinema role in Hans- Christian Schmid's film REQUIEM (2004). For this acting achievement she received the Silver Bear, the German Film Award and a nomination for the European Film Award. In the following years Sandra Hüller worked closely with Johan Simons at the Münchner Kammerspiele, the Ruhrtriennale and the Schauspielhaus Bochum, but also made feature films, including 2007 with Maria Speth MADONNEN and Nanouk Leopold BROWNIAN MOVEMENT. Her role in Jan Schomburg's feature film debut ÜBER UNS DAS ALL (2011) earned her a further nomination for the German Film Prize. For her performance in Frauke Finsterwalders FINSTERWORLD (2013) she received the German Film Award for Best Female Supporting Role in 2014. TONI ERDMANN premiered in Cannes, was nominated for the Academy Award 2017 for Best Foreign Language Film and Sandra Hüller was awarded the European Film Award, the German Film Award and the Bavarian Film Award for her role. She then shot with Thomas Stuber IN DEN GÄNGEN, who celebrated his world premiere in the Berlinale competition. Her latest works include two French films PROXIMA directed by Alice Winocour and SIBYL by Justine Triet, which was screened in the 2019 Cannes Film Festival competition.


We say thank you to the European Parliament and the German and French governments for their support.

Mariya Gabriel

EU-Kommissarin für digitale Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft

Sabine Verheyen

For more than a hundred years now, film is an expression of our rich European culture. It reflects the development of society and shows divergent attempts on how to approach it. By covering different genres, European film always aimed to reach a broad audience. It is the European Arthouse Cinema Day that celebrates this diversity in film, unites arthouse movies from all over Europe and through this precise unity rises awareness for diversity in times of streaming services and cinema cartels with tremendous market power. It thereby goes hand in hand with the motto of the European Union: United in Diversity. I am therefore proud to be patroness of the European Arthouse Cinema Days 2019. We can draw from such a rich cultural diversity in Europe. Let us preserve and protect it - and support those who enrich it with their art and creativity.

Chair of CULT Committee European Parliament

Monika Grütters

“Films have this great ability to transport audiences into alternative realities. They allow us to change perspectives and view the world through different eyes. European author films play a prominent role in promoting both cultural diversity and rapprochement among the peoples of Europe.

The European Arthouse Cinema Day showcases European author films and will help capture the imaginations of new audience segments. The participating arthouse cinemas and their varied programmes provide an ideal and timely platform for important cultural exchange. Impressively, they live the principle of unity through diversity.”

Deutsche Staatsministerin für Kultur und Medien

Franck Riester

French Culture Minister

© Patrice Soudin

With the support of

In partnership with

Gefördert durch